Monday, September 19, 2016

Cultural Contest and Mr. & Ms. Astro 2016

SEPTEMBER 16, 2016—Held at Astronomy Room1, the annual Cultural Contest and Mister and Miss Astro showcased that aside from being wanderers of the sky, BS Astronomy students were also talented in singing and possess incredible beauty and charm.

Program started with the singing competition. Audience jammed with contestants, Aljean Cabello performing the song If Only and Sarrah Amando with Salamat. The latter was hailed winner.

Meanwhile, the sole contestant in the kundiman song competition, Franchette Castillion sang Ang Tangi Kong Pagibig.

Moreover, the main event of the evening was this year’s pageant. Cheers and chants surrounded the venue when each candidates, dressed in white, entered the stage and presented themselves.

Then, presented their respective talents.

Wearing their stunning formal wears, the knowledge and wit of each candidates shined in the anticipated question and answer portion.

            Best in Casual Wear (Male)            Mark Jiao
            Best in Casual Wear (Female)        Camille Vicare

 Best in Talent (Male)                       Mark Jiao
            Best in Talent (Female)                  Babie Rose Quniquis
            Best in Formal Wear (Male)           Clarence Sales
            Best in Formal Wear (Female)       Camille Vicare

Mr. Astro 2nd Runner-Up                Joferd Retana
Ms. Astro 2nd Runner-Up               Kaya Pintor

Mr. Astro 1st Runner-Up                 Clarence Sales
Ms. Astro 1st Runner-Up                Camille Vicare

Mr. Astro 2016                                Mark Jiao
Ms. Astro 2016                               Babie Rose Quiniquis

Thursday, September 8, 2016

RTU-AstroSoc’s New Officers

Officers taking oath. 

MANDALUYONG CITY— Fourth Year student, Phoebe Pura was held as the new President of the RTU-Astronomy Society after gathering a total of 44 votes—nine votes ahead against her competitor—last August 12 polls.

Completing the new sets of officers are: Ralph Tiburdo, Vice President for Observation and Instrumentation; May Dacula, Vice President for Education and Research; Angelica Busalla, Secretary; Al Santiano, Treasurer; and, Chelsea Paterno, Auditor.

Moreover, year level representatives are: Jathniel Bueno, First Year; Darlene Rodriguez, Second Year; Christian Demegillo, Third Year; Babie Rose Quiniquis, Fourth Year; and, Jhan-Jhan Abel, Fifth Year.

Last August 31, they took oath under the Commission of Student Election (COMSELEC) Chairperson Julie Mae Dela Rosa held in Astronomy Auditorium. Witnessing the event are Heribert Rendon, President of the Supreme Student Council; Jeroh Hiyastro, CEIT Board Member;  Mark Perez, CAHS Board Member; and, Vivian Fundal, COMSELEC, Deputy

Officers with adviser Prof. Ryan Guido

Report by CompaƱero, Hans Carlo J.

Photos by VG Garrido